The PBC foundation's policy is to work together with the WWF-NL and the UU to facilitate the activities of the special chair. Activities related to the chair include: teaching, organising seminars, conducting field research, writing publications and supervising students and researchers.


Through the chairholder, students at the UU are made aware of and educated in the importance of international nature conservation, its scientific foundation and the dilemmas occurring in international nature conservation. For scientists at the university, the Prince Bernhard Chairholders are important interlocutors and stimulate more research into international nature conservation issues.

Previous chairholders are: Norman Meyers (1987-1992), Jeffrey Sayer (1994-2003), Jack Putz (2004-2009), Bill Laurance (2010-2014) and Jaboury Ghazoul (2015-2020)


The customary UU procedures for renewing the special Chair apply.

When a new chairholder is recruited, the curatorium will make a nomination proposal to the UU Appointments Advisory Committee (BAC).

Prof. Dr. George A. Kowalchuk (Professor at the UU) is Chairman of the Curatorium.